Mary and Anahata small pic

Mary Humphreys and Anahata

Traditional English Folk Music

A Baker's Dozen

A Baker's Dozen

Our 2012 Album

Treewind TWD014

Available now

Download tracks or whole album from

Like Cold Fen this album has more songs from Cambridgeshire, and another tune from the manuscript of William Clarke of Feltwell. We have re-recorded When Fishes Fly as it is the song most asked for and the original Sharp Practice Album is all sold out.

A Bakers's Dozen does have thirteen tracks, but the title also refers to the song The Proud Pedlar, whose plot hinges on the apparent baking of a cake and culinary metaphor (it's possible that the reference to a pestle and mortar does not necessarily refer to the actual kitchen implements - I'm not saying any more...) Dodgy cooking also appears in John Riley where the stewed eels fed to him by his sweetheart certainly didn't do him any good.

There's a seasonal thread running though some of the album, with a May song, a June tune, a souling song (October) and a Christmas song, which we've kept in chronological order - it seems to work that way.

This album is much more local produce than previous ones - it features two tunes written by Anahata, one by Essex man Simon Ritchie, the recording and mixing were done by Anahata in our own studio, Mary designed and photographed the stunning cover picture and it's on our own "Treewind" label.
Because of lower production costs, the price will be only £10, and because we own all the rights we are able to make it available for download at Bandcamp, which wasn't an option before.

Track List

  1. No, My Love, Not I
  2. Cambridgeshire May Garland Song
  3. First of June + Essex Girl
  4. Barbara Allen
  5. Lousy Tailor
  6. Speed The Plough + Stybarrow Crag
  7. John Barleycorn
  8. If You Will Not Have Me You May Let Me Go
  9. John Riley
  10. Proud Pedlar
  11. The Valiant + The Allexander
  12. Edgmond Men's Souling Song
  13. Sweet Chiming Bells